My crazy Family Living in Japan

Military Family Living Abroad

Yummy balls!! April 26, 2010

Filed under: recipes,Vegan Recipes — Annastasia @ 15:31
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Today I was trying to come up with a little healtier alternative to the typical “sweets” snack. I am such a HUGE snacker. If I am sitting, I have this need to “snack”. I know it is a horrible habit, but I am trying to snack less, and snack on healthier things!  I have seen many “ball” recipes, though lots of them use sugar and chocolate, neither of which is all that healthy. I came up with my own little take on the “ball” – there are so many things you can do with this type of a snack.

Ingredients

2 Cups of dates, (Dried, chopped)

1/3 Cup Water

1/2 Tblsp Vanilla

1 Cup Chopped Almonds

2 Tblsp Cocoa Powder

1/2 Cup Coconut

Combine dates, and water in a saucepan on the stove. Cook over low heat, mashing and stirring frequently. Cook about 10 minutes until the dates are all mushy and soft. Once done, remove from heat.

Stir in Vanilla.

Pour date mixture into a bowl, add 1/2 Cup chopped almonds and cocoa powder. (If still too gooey, add more chopped Almonds)  Stir well.

Put into refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

Once cooled, use a small – med scoop to make balls. Roll them in shredded coconut or almonds and place on wax paper.  Once done, return them to the fridge to “set” up (if you don’t eat them all before hand)

These are SOOO yummy!!! I hope you enjoy them as much as my family did!

 

3 Responses to “Yummy balls!!”

  1. Alicia Says:

    Kids gobbled them up! YUM YUM YUM!

  2. Alicia Says:

    OOOO they taste like Almond Joys! MOre redipes mOre recipes

  3. Annastasia Says:

    Glad you liked them! They are yummy!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.