My crazy Family Living in Japan

Military Family Living Abroad

Mondays Muffin mayhem July 19, 2010

Filed under: recipes,Vegan Recipes — Annastasia @ 17:30
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As any of you know who have read my blog. . .I always seem to make muffins on Mondays! I am not sure why this is, but Mondays are always great days to bake! Today I actually had somewhere to take my muffins. Tonight is our cluster meeting for PC (pampered chef), and our team was to bring snack & refreshments. Well, I started the day thinking .. . . Muffins would be great. Perfect amount of sweetness, rich, moist, goodiness that needs no frosting. Easy right? Not in my kitchen .. .

As I thought of what kind of muffins to make I came up with 2 choices. . . banana chocolate chip OR pumpkin chocolate chip (I am seeing a pattern here. . .. ).  After much deliberation, and a facebook vote. . .  I settled on the pumpkin chocolate chip. These are one of my fave muffins (sans frosting).  Since I was clean out of canned pumpkin, I’d need to stop at the store during my morning errands to pick up a can.  No biggie. . . . (Ha, Ha, Ha)

I get to the commissary, and low and behold. . . they are also clean out of canned pumpkin (OF COURSE!), so I grab the pumpkin pie canned suff and see a recipe for  “Crumbled top pumpkin muffins” so I changed my MoJo to these crumbled top muffins. .. .minus the chocolate. I am always up for trying new things!

Well, I made the muffins. .  fairly easy, and cooked well .. . . . but, they were kind of  .. . . PLAIN.  So, I decided they would be better with frosting or a ganache.  After much (MUCH) thought,  I decided to go with a brown sugar frosting that I found @ The Cupcake Project. Of course, I’d have to “veganize” it. . . but no biggie.

These Babies turned out SO GOOD!!! They are like mouth watering yummo pumpkiny brown sugary good!! They turned out Delishioso!!! Oishi!! Damn good!! So. . . . I thought I would share the recipe with you all. . . . Please try them out, they are super good!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Crumble Top Pumpkin Muffins (From the inside label of a can of Libby’s Easy Pumpkin pie mix)

4 C  all-purpose baking mix

1 C raisins (optional)

2/3 C quick or old fashioned oats

2/3 C granulated sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 can (30oz) Libbys easy pumkin pie mix

2 large eggs

Streusel Topping (Recipe follows)

Preaheat oven to 400F. Paper-line or grease 24 muffin cups.

Combine baking mix, raisins, oats, sugar and cinnamon in large bowl. Combine pumpkin pie mix and eggs in medium bowl; mix well. Stir into oat mixture just until moistened. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling 3/4 full. Sprinkle with streusel topping.

Bake for 14-16 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove from pans to wire rack; cool slightly.  Serve warm.

For Streusel Topping:

Combine 3 Tblsp all-purpose flour, 3 Tblsp granulated sugar and 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon in small bowl. Cut in 2 Tblsp butter with pastry blender or two knives until mixture is crumbly.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now obviously I veganized this. I used egg replacer, and I also left out the raisins.  These turned out good on their own, but I felt they were lacking something. So I added the brown sugar frosting found here. I also veganized this recipe by subbing organic soy milk for the milk called for in the recipe. Once that frosting was added, these muffins were out of this world!!  Getting this frosting ON the muffins was a fiasco in itself!

First, I tried using a pastry bag with a tip on it (to make them prettier) and I got the frosting in the bag, and went to put it on the muffins . . . the entire seam ripped and it gushed out all into my hand! (Thank goodness it missed the muffins!) once I salvaged all I could (scraping my hand and the pastry bag) I decided to forget about “prettiness” and went solely for flavor. . . . I applied the frosting with a . .  . butter knife! So. . . . they don’t look crazy. . . but they tasted GREAT!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Todays (lived & learned) piece of advice. . .. . Invest in a sifter and a GOOD pastry bag.

 

One Response to “Mondays Muffin mayhem”

  1. Tes Says:

    Wow the muffins look adorable! The recipe sounds simple and yet delicious.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.