My crazy Family Living in Japan

Military Family Living Abroad

Cleaning Green November 30, 2009

Filed under: Around the House,Going Green,Your Health — Annastasia @ 16:00

So today I had to clean, the most dreaded room of the house. . . . .My Kitchen. I have no dishwasher and the dishes all have to be washed by hand. I normally have to do this 1 -2 times a week because my pre-teen can not seem to get them clean (I think she does this on purpose thinking that she won’t have to do them if they are dirty).
I started my kitchen by cleaning the counter. We have a bar/counter thing that we eat on, that also seems to “collect” all kinds of treasures. Once all the junk was gone, I grabbed my trusty bottle of homemade Super Ant repelling super yummy smelling Major disinfecting cleaner. As I sprayed it onto my counter, I thought of what other people use to clean things like their counters and such where their kids always are and where they eat and things. I personally don’t like using any chemicals that aren’t necessary (such as Raid, I swear the Cockroaches here are on steroids). That got me to thinking that I should share some of my “household concoctions” with all of you, my readers!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SUPER CLEANER
2 cup water
5 drops lavender oil
5 drops tea tree oil
1/4 cup vinegar
2 teaspoons baking soda
Combine all ingredients in spray bottle. Close TIGHTLY (nozzle too) and shake to blend. If the nozzle is left open, it may “spit” solution as the bicarb and vinegar interact.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I use this on EVERYTHING that needs wiped down in my kitchen! It is a wonderful cleaner! I also never have any ants in my kitchen, could be the tea tree or the vinegar? Vinegar is such a great cleaner. It cleans windows, deodorizes, cuts grease, dissolves stuck on stickers, and more!  To Learn more uses for Vinegar click HERE.

Vinegar is acidic and astringent and can be an irritant if used undiluted. It works as a solvent on some things which is why it is such a good cleaning agent. Generally it is a very safe product and has been used for generations, so its properties are well understood, unlike those of many modern cleaning chemicals. It has been in use from ancient times, as it occurs naturally when wine, beer or other alcoholic drinks are exposed to the air. This is a much better cleaner to use in your house than all those super harsh chemicals from the store. Half of the ingredients you can’t even pronounce, let alone know what they do!

Baking soda is another great cleaner. I use it in conjunction with vinegar often. Aside from my super cleaner, I also sprinkle it down my sink drain.  I then pour vinegar down the drain. Once it is done bubbling, I flush with super hot water.  Makes all the icky smells go away and leaves it clean.  Baking soda can be used as an abrasive and can be used to shine your sink in place of things like comet or ajax.  I also use baking soda as a deodorant (and it actually works better too), I simply take a small amount and moisten it some, then spread it on the underarms and let dry.  It works great, even in this super humid weather! It can also be used a couple times a month to help whiten  your teeth. (don’t use more than that, or you may possibly get irritated gums), simply put on a toothbrush and brush, then rinse.  I also use this in place of shampoo. I take some baking soda, sprinkle it onto my scalp and massage with some water, then rinse well. I do this about once every 4 -6 days.  I then spray Apple Cider Vinegar on my hair as a conditioner (2 Tblsp +1 Cup water) just spray it on, let it sit a minute, then rinse really well. Both Kiwi and I use this method for hair care.

Both items are also great in your laundry, use baking soda for stain removal (in the wash cycle) and vinegar for ph balancing (in the rinse cycle).  I actually just ordered some soapnuts too. I will be writing about those soon!!

I hope you all got tons out of this post.  There are tons of inexpensive ways to use normal non toxic household items to clean and disinfect your house.  They are safer for you and your family, and you know what is in it (which I always like to know).

Good luck mixing your own concoctions!! (If you already use some of your own, post them in the comments section here to share with all of us!)

HAPPY CLEANING!


*All the Essential Oils I use for cleaning are the same ones that I have available in my store.

 

Leave a Reply

