My crazy Family Living in Japan

Military Family Living Abroad

Sick kids and good food ~ December 13, 2009

Filed under: Vegan Recipes — Annastasia @ 19:18

Well, it has been a rough few days! Every one of my kids has managed to be sick!! Today, I had a lot of stuff to get done, and with 3 sick kids it was a little difficult, but I managed. I made some homemade almond milk, homemade “chick’n” noodle soup, full meal muffins, and peppermint chocolate chip cookies. The first three items were for the kids, the cookies were for me!! I would like to share my recipe for the last two with you all.
The “Full meal muffin” recipe came from The vegan Lunch Box cookbook. The recipe can also be found on their website here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Full Meal Muffins (taken from Shmooed Food)
1 cup whole spelt flour
1 cup barley flour (or use 1 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat flour in place of spelt and barley if you prefer)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 ripe bananas, peeled
3 tablespoons blackstrap molasses
½ cup apple juice, plus more as needed
2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
1 zucchini, finely grated (about 1 ½ cups)
½ cup finely chopped or ground walnuts
½ cup currants or raisins (optional, they add a touch of sweetness)

Preheat the oven to 375º. Line a muffin tin with paper liners and spray with nonstick spray.

Combine both flours, cinnamon, baking powder, and baking soda in a mixing bowl and whisk together.

Place the bananas, blackstrap molasses, apple juice, and apple cider vinegar in a Vita-Mix or other blender and blend until smooth. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together, then fold in the zucchini, walnuts, and currants or raisins. Use a bit more apple juice if needed to wet all the flour.

Divide mixture evenly into the 12 lined muffin cups, and bake for 20 minutes, or until the top springs back to the touch. Remove muffins from the pan and cool on a wire rack.

Store in an airtight container or freeze in individual freezer bags to pull out and put into lunches as needed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I made some adjustments to the original, based on what I had in the house. I did use 1 cup white + 1 cup whole wheat flour, subbed OJ for Apple juice, and used apple instead of Zucchini. I also added a bunch of Bok Choy into the vitamix. Instead of raisins or currants, I used dates that I chopped up.  These ingredients were just what I had on hand, and they worked out deliciously. The kids couldn’t get enough!! Z ate 2 whole Muffins!!! We will definitely make these again!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now for the cookies!! These are my FAVORITE cookies!! I Love these!! When I feel stressed, I eat these. They make everything better. After the day I had today, I needed these cookies. They are so wonderful, I thought I would share the recipe with all of you!

Chocolate chip Peppermint Cookies

1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2/3 cup canola oil
1/4 cup applesauce (or 1 egg substitute)
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups crushed peppermint candy (I use peppermint sticks)
1 1/2 cups vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Mix sugar, brown sugar, oil,  & egg replacer in large bowl. Mix flour, baking soda, salt in separate bowl. Add dry ingredients to wet. Stir well. Add crushed Peppermint (I use candy canes, crushed in the vitamix) and chocolate chips. Combine well.  If it is a little dry, add a small amount of “milk” (I used almond milk) to make it cookie consistency.  Drop on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 8-10 min.  Cool on wire rack and enjoy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I would love to post my recipe for “chick’n noodle soup” but it didn’t turn out as well as I would have liked.  I hope you all enjoy these recipes.

Happy Baking!

 

Leave a Reply

