My crazy Family Living in Japan

Military Family Living Abroad

Sinfully Delish comfort food March 22, 2010

Filed under: Vegan Recipes — Annastasia @ 19:34
Tags: , , , ,

I have not blogged in awhile. My college classes have been taking up all of my free time (with 3 kids, my free time is already a commodity). Since my last blog post,  I have decided to get my degree in nutrition, and am super excited about my decision.
Some friends have been asking for some of my recipes I have been posting on facebook, so today’s post is going to be on some new sinfully delish foods!!

First up . .. . Soup!

Creamy Cheezy Potato Carrot Broccoli soup ~ Note: I combined 3 different recipes, added my own flair and came up with a whole new dish for this one! It turned out super yumm-O!!

6 cups water

2 veggie bullion cube (No MSG)

5 cups potatoes, cubed

1/2 cup onion, Chopped

1/2 cup carrots, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 capful of liquid smoke

1 bay leaf (remove before blending)

Rosemary, sage, and Nature’s Seasons (by morton, the salt peeps) – I add these to taste ( I like lots)

Add all these ingredients to the crock pot.  Stir, cover and cook on high 6 hours.

1 hour before these are done you need to prepare your cheezy cream.

Cheezy cream

1 cup potatoes, cubed

1/2 cup carrots

1/3 cup onion

2 cups water

1/2 Cup Nutritional Yeast ( HOLD until the end of recipe)

Add above to pan, boil for 10 min or until veges are tender.

When done, add to blender with 1 cup cashews, 1/4 tsp garlic minced, 1/4 tsp dijon mustard, 1 tblsp lemon juice, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/8 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp paprika. Blend until creamy. Add some of the vegetables and soup broth from the crock pot into the blender (with the creamy sauce) to total about 3-4 cups. Blend well. Add all back into the crock pot, stir well. Add frozen broccoli and 1/2 cup nutritional yeast, stir.  Cook 45 more minutes or so. until crock pot is done.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With this I made Onion herb rolls. The recipe I use for these is fantabulous and from vegweb (http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=13087.0)

Onion Herb Rolls

1/2 cup soy milk
1 1/2 tablespoon sugar (I use evaporated cane)
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon non-hydrogenated margarine
1/2 cup lukewarm water
1 packet yeast (about 2-1/4 teaspoons)
2 1/4 cups unbleached flour
1/4 medium red onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon thyme (dried)
1 tablespoon rosemary (dried)

Mix the soymilk, salt, sugar in a small saucepan and plop in the margarine. Heat until *almost* boiling, stir, and remove from heat. Add the onion and garlic. Let cool.

Mix the flour with the herbs.

Dissolve the yeast in the water in a large bowl, and add the soymilk mix (should be lukewarm/room temperature-ish) and flour mix. Stir well.

Let the dough rise, covered, for about 45 minutes.  It works best if it’s somewhere warm (I put it in the oven, heated to 100 and then turned off)

Plop spoonfuls of the dough onto a greased pan/ sheet, making about 12 rolls (or whatever you like).  Bake for about 20 minutes, until the tops are browned.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

These two recipes are a definate favorite in my house! The kids and hubs loves them! There is never leftovers!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

