My crazy Family Living in Japan

Military Family Living Abroad

Lunch of a SuperMom April 14, 2010

Filed under: Vegan Recipes — Annastasia @ 13:09
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A lot of my friends refer to me as “SuperMom”. Though let me tell you, I don’t always feel so “Super”.  One thing I almost always make time for is food. I love food.  Today one of my friends on Facebook was talking about hummus, and cucumber sandwiches (though I don’t think together). This suddenly sounded SUPER yummy for lunch today – so I made the most amazing sandwich EVER today!

I used the Idea mentioned above and it turned out so good I thought I would share my recipe here with you all! I hope you love it as much as I did!

What I used:

Thomas Whole Wheat bagel (These have 10 grams of protein!)

Homemade Roasted Red Pepper hummus

Home sprouted organic alfalfa sprouts

Tomato (local grown of course)

Avacado

Cucumber

Directions

Toast the bagel.  Spread with Hummus on both sides.  Top with tomato, avacado, cucumber, and sprouts.  Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

1 can chickpeas (drained & rinsed)

1/4 cup tahini

1/4 cup lemon juice

4 or 5 cloves of garlic (Minced)

1/2 -3/4 C Roasted Red Peppers

salt (optional)

parsley (Optional)

ground cumin (Optional)


Directions

Add Tahini and lemon juice into blender.  Blend until creamy and “milk” like.  Add Garlic, blend well again.  Add Roasted Red peppers, blend until smooth.  Add Chickpeas, and blend until smooth. When all is blended well, pour into a bowl.  Stir in salt, parsley, and cumin (if using).  Enjoy on sandwiches, with pita chips, or tortilla chips. It is also great as a vegetable dip!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You can learn more about hummus here.

 

Leave a Reply

